Do you live in NSW and you’re looking for a change of scene from your regular park, or maybe you are just visiting and you want to find the best places to take your dog?

In the list below simply click on the local area that you’re interested in. You will be directed to the relevant council webpage with details of the dog exercise areas (please note some of the links are to PDF pages so you will need Adobe reader). Local councils are constantly updating and adding to their lists of leash free areas, and trialling new ones, so remember to check back every now and then for new places to play!

Dog parks offer great benefits for owner and dog alike:

– For dogs, they offer the freedom of running without constraint, allowing them to play, sniff, chase, roll and romp to their heart’s content. Many problems such as digging and barking arise because dogs are restless and bored. Often, these problems can be solved simply by giving dogs more exercise.

– For dog owners they offer a great chance to get some exercise, contribute to your own health and well-being, and meet other dog owners.



Albury City Council
Armidale Regional Council


Ballina Shire Council
Balranald Shire Council

Bathurst Regional Council
Bayside Council
Bega Valley Shire Council
Bellingen Shire Council
Berrigan Shire Council
Blacktown City Council
Bland Shire Council
Blayney Shire Council
Blue Mountains City Council
Bogan Shire Council
Bombala Council

Bourke Shire Council
Brewarrina Shire Council
Broken Hill City Council
Burwood Council
Byron Shire Council


Cabonne Council
Camden Council
Campbelltown City Council
Central Coast Council
City of Canada Bay Council
City of Canterbury Bankstown
Carrathool Shire Council
Central Darling Shire Council
Cessnock City Council
Clarence Valley Council
Cobar Shire Council
Coffs Harbour City Council

Coolamon Shire Council

Coonamble Shire Council
Cootamundra Shire Council

Cowra Council
Cumberland City Council


Dubbo Regional Council
Dungog Shire Council


Edward River Council
Eurobodalla Shire Council


Fairfield City Council
Federation Council
Forbes Shire Council


Georges River Council
Gilgandra Shire Council
Glen Innes Severn Council

Goulburn Mulwaree Council

Greater Hume Shire Council

Griffith City Council
Gunnedah Shire Council

Gwydir Shire Council


Hawkesbury City Council
Hay Shire Council
The Hills Shire Council
Hilltop Council

Hornsby Shire Council
Hunters Hill Council


Inner West Council
Inverell Shire Council


Junee Shire Council


Kempsey Shire Council
The Council of the Municipality of Kiama

Ku-ring-gai Council
Kyogle Council


Lachlan Shire Council
Lake Macquarie City Council
Lane Cove Municipal Council
Leeton Shire Council

Lismore City Council
City of Lithgow Council
Liverpool City Council
Liverpool Plains Shire Council
Lockhart Shire Council


Maitland City Council

Midcoast Council
Mid-Western Regional Council
Moree Plains Shire Council
Mosman Council
Murray River Council
Murray Shire Council
Murrumbidgee Council
Muswellbrook Shire Council


Nambucca Valley Council
Narrabri Shire Council
Narrandera Shire Council
Narromine Shire Council
Newcastle City Council
Northern Beaches Council
North Sydney Council


Oberon Council
Orange City Council


Parkes Shire Council
City of Parramatta
Penrith City Council

Port Macquarie-Hastings Council
Port Stephens Council


Queanbeyan-Palerang Regional Council


Randwick City Council
Richmond Valley Council

Ryde City Council


Shellharbour City Council
Shoalhaven City Council
Singleton Council
Snowy Monaro Regional Council
Snowy Valleys Council
Strathfield Municipal Council
Sutherland Shire Council
Council of the City of Sydney


Tamworth Regional Council
Temora Shire Council
Tenterfield Shire Council

Tweed Shire Council


Upper Hunter Shire Council
Upper Lachlan Shire Council
Uralla Shire Council



City of Wagga Wagga

Walcha Council
Walgett Shire Council
Warren Shire Council

Warrumbungle Shire Council
Waverley Council
Weddin Shire Council

Wentworth Shire Council
Willoughby City Council
Wingecarribee Shire Council
Wollondilly Shire Council
Wollongong City Council
Woollahra Municipal Council



Yass Valley Council


It is recognised that dogs benefit greatly from the chance to run freely, and for this reason the Companion Animals Act makes it a duty for councils to provide “off-leash” areas for the exercise of dogs. These areas may only be available for this purpose for limited hours, but at any time there must be at least one place in each council area where dogs can be exercised without a lead.

Leash Free areas are designed to allow pet owners to exercise their dogs without a leash in an open environment where they are not likely to impact on other recreational area users. Please remember that owners are still required to be able to control their dog before releasing them for exercise and they must clean up after their animals immediately.

In the event that a council website has not provided information on off leash areas the link will take you to the council homepage. You can then search their website for new information or contact them directly.